Hello (again) Saigon

Saigon, or also known as Ho Chi Minh City, is a busy city with amazing food. It is the economic hub of Vietnam, growing more and more every day. And finally, it was my home.

Coming back after more than a decade is a surreal experience. I am no longer the child that left Saigon so many years ago, but in many ways, I still felt like one. The language was a struggle on its own. I always prided myself with being able to speak Vietnamese, but I found myself having a lot of trouble listening and adjusting to the fast pace and different dialects that people spoke in. It took a day or two before I could fully communicate without having to use awkward hand gestures or English every other sentence. Reconnecting with my family again after so long was great, but sad because I will have to live without their bright smiles and fun stories back in the states. Yes, I know that Skype is a thing, but it’s just not the same as sitting face-to-face in a coffee shop *** (more on that later).

Surprisingly, I found that I loved feeling disoriented and confused about everything and everyone around me. This new sense of confusion was something I had not felt in a long time. Instead of being absolutely terrified (which I was at first), I decided to look at it as a new adventure. The process of exploring and rediscovering the norm in this new world is exciting and I can’t wait for what it has in store for me in the upcoming weeks.

IMG_2242
With the fam

Leave a comment